45th Annual Meeting of the Mountain Plains Management Conference

Business Meeting

October 10, 2003 at 12:00 noon



Casimir Barczyk, Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Mountain Plains Management Conference, addressed the membership at the luncheon and opened the business meeting.


Chairman Barczyk acknowledged the efforts of Dean Byron Dangerfield and Assistant Dean Jack Morris for their efforts in hosting the 2003 Mountain Plains Management Conference at the University of Idaho.   He also acknowledged the dedicated efforts of Mario Reyes and Dana Stover, conference co-chairs.  Their work transformed the conference from a concept into a successful reality.   


Chairman Barczyk acknowledged and recognized the outgoing board members:  Eric Pratt of New Mexico State University and Roy Cook of Fort Lewis College.  Both will receive plaques in recognition of their service from the University of Idaho, the host institution. 


Chairman Barczyk recognized members of the current Board of Directors:


            Debbie Gilliard, Metropolitan State College of Denver

            Mario Reyes, University of Idaho

            Dana Stover, University of Idaho

            Paula Weber, St. Cloud State University

            Mary Zimmerer, Mesa State College


Chairman Barczyk reported that:


1.         The conference has institutionalized the practice of providing best paper awards. 

2.         The Board of Directors decided to pay the $50 submission fee for the recipients of the best paper awards if they published their papers in the Mountain Plains Journal.

3.         The conference has institutionalized the role of staff photographer.  Frank Elston of Concordia College was recognized for his efforts in providing photographs of last year’s meeting at Fort Lewis College in Durango, Colorado.

4.         The names of two persons from Southern Utah University (SUU) are being solicited to serve on the board.  SUU will host the conference in 2005.

5.         The conference rotation schedule has been finalized.  It involves the following institutions:


            46th annual conference at Mesa State College in 2004

            47th annual conference at Southern Utah University in 2005

            48th annual conference at Metropolitan State College of Denver in 2006

            49th annual conference at Idaho State University in Pocatello in 2007


6.         Host institutions are being sought for the 50th and 51st annual conferences in 2008 and 2009, respectively.

7.         Mary Zimmerer and Richard Vail are the co-chairs for next year’s conference at Mesa State College in Grand Junction, Colorado.  They collected information from the membership by means of a questionnaire to better plan the next conference.  They asked for volunteers to help organize the conference.  In particular, they are seeking paper reviewers, discussants, and track chairs. 

8.         The conference banquet would be held at 6:30 p.m. on Friday, October 10, 2003 in a meeting room at the University Inn. 


Chairman Barczyk joined Mario Reyes in presenting a plaque to recognize the efforts of Dana Stover in coordinating the conference at the University of Idaho.  She was commended for being an excellent planner and prime mover of people in getting things accomplished.  The membership shared their appreciation of Dana’s efforts with a round of applause. 


Chairman Barczyk opened the floor to discussion of other issues.  Building membership was discussed.  The membership felt that two-year colleges represented an untapped market for the conference.  The co-chairs of next year’s conference will take steps to send calls for papers and warmly welcome participants from two-year colleges situated in the mountain plains region. 


The business meeting was adjourned at 12:30 p.m.