Annual Membership Meeting

Mountain Plains Management Association (MPMA)

October 7, 2011


The annual membership meeting of the Mountain Plains Management Association was called to order by Board of Directors President David Summers at 12:20 p.m. on the campus of Colorado Mesa University.


David Summers welcomed all to the annual membership meeting and thanked Colorado Mesa University for graciously hosting the 53rd Annual National Mountain Plains Management Conference.


David Summers, on behalf of the Mountain Plains Management Association, thanked the 2011 Board of Directors for their work.  The 2011 Board members were: Alan Hamlin, James Frost, Casimir (Casey) Barczyk, Suzanne Lay, Larry Carstenson, Geoff Gurka, Ed Harris, Kay Hodge, and David Summers (president).


Minutes of the 2010 membership meeting were approved by the membership without amendment.


The proposed amendments to the Mountain Plains Management Association bylaws which were distributed to the membership one month prior to the annual meeting were approved, including the editorial changes suggested by the Board of Directors at the October 6, 2011 board meeting.  The revised bylaws are posted on the Mountain Plains Management Association website.


It was reported to the membership that a one-time adjustment to the terms of the board members and officers of the Mountain Plains Management Association had been approved by the Board of Directors.  The term revisions were necessary to reflect the changes to the bylaws approved by membership.


The membership received the nominating committee report which recommended that Larry Carstenson and Ed Harris be nominated to fill the two vacant board member positions.  Nominations from the floor were sought.  A motion was made and seconded that nominations cease and the two people recommended by the nominating committee be elected by acclamation.  The motion passed.


The following are the Mountain Plains Management Association Board of Directors for 2012:  (reflects the adjusted terms.)


Board Members (term ending date):

Dr. Casey Barczyk – Purdue University Calumet (2012)

Dr. James Frost – Idaho State University (2012)

Dr. Suzanne Lay – Colorado Mesa University (2013)

Dr. David  Summers – University of Houston-Victoria (2013)

Dr. Larry Carstenson – University of Nebraska at Kearney (2014)

Dr. Ed Harris – Weber State University (2014)


Officers (term ending date):

Dr. Geoff Gurka – Colorado Mesa University – Past Conference Chair (2012)

Dr. Kay Hodge – University of Nebraska at Kearney – Conference Chair (2013)

Dr. Alan Hamlin – Southern Utah University – Future Conference Chair (2014)


David Summers was introduced as the 2012 Board of Directors President.


The University of Nebraska at Kearney gave a report of the preparations for the 54th Annual National Mountain Plains Management Conference in Kearney, Nebraska, October 10 -13, 2012.  A call for papers was distributed.


David Summers gave a report about the Mountain Plains Journal of Business and Economics (MPJBE).   The report was based on an Editor’s Report to the MPMA Board of Directors by Dr. David Tufte from Southern Utah University, Editor, of the MPJBE. Participants were encouraged to submit papers to the double-blind reviewed journal. 


No additional old business was presented.


No new business was introduced.


The meeting was adjourned at 1:00 p.m.


Submitted by:  David Summers, President of MPMA Board of Directors__